9 Summer Beach Reads… And not the trashy, turned off brain kind

Summer Beach Books

I love reading. No, it’s not dorky, it’s awesome. And to make it even less dorky, I have a list of books to read for the summer that are not trashy, fictional, brain dead beach reads. Maybe because I’m older, maybe it’s because I’m trying to figure out my life path, maybe because I’m a mature responsible adult (no, no, definitely not the last one)? But whatever the reason, here’s my list. It’s a combination of Business, Girl Power and Runcentric.

  1. #GIRLBOSS by Sophi Amoruso – the CEO and Founder of NastyGal’s book about her story from dumpster diving and petty theft to running a $100 Million fashion powerhouse.
  2. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling – I loved her in The Office and I’m obsessed with The Mindy Project, so why would I not want to read her story.
  3. BossyPant by Tina Fey – Because we’ve all seen Mean Girls, 30 Rock and pretty much think this woman is brilliant. Reason enough to read her book. Plus her and Amy Poehler should host every award event ever.
  4. 25 Mistakes I Made at Work by Jessica Bacal – A bunch of high-achieving woman tell their stories of failures & mistakes and how they learned from them.
  5. Runner’s World Complete Book of Women’s Running by Dagny Scott Barrios – because you can never know too much!
  6. My Life On The Run by Bart Yasso – If one of the biggest icons in running writes a book, you read it.
  7. Going Long by Runner’s World, David WIlley – a collection of stories of “Legends, Oddballs, Comebacks & Adventures” from the pages of RW mag. All those stories that are really hard to read because they make you want to cry, I’m guessing they are all stuffed into this book. I’ll let you know how far I actually make it through this one.
  8. Garlic and Sapphires: The Secret Life of a Critic of Disguise by Ruth Reichl – As an anonymous food critic and former editor in chief for Gourment Magazine, Ruth’s book is about changing her look to try food and stay anonymous, how it affects her character, expectations and the way people treat her. Apparently it is very funny and smart!
  9. The Forgotten 500 by Gregory A. Freeman – In 1944, the OSS set out to rescue 500 airmen who were behind Yugoslavia enemy lines. The information was classified for over 50 years, this is the full account. I love historical books, fiction and non. And WWII books… This is right in my wheelhouse.

Who’s reading what? Who has things they can recommend? Throw ’em at me! (full disclosure, I made this list a while ago and never posted, I’m about half-through the books now).

I’m on goodreads if you want to be friends.

Leave a Reply

