Staten Island Half Marathon Race Recap & NYC Marathon countdown freakout!

I raced Staten Island Half Marathon again this year! Another race recap for you all.

post race photo op!

post race photo op!

I should have remembered this from last year when I missed the start of the race, but the bathroom lines are Horrible at this race. Once again, we started late because we were waiting in the porta potty line, which shouldn’t be a big deal, but for some reason this morning it was really stressing me out. Other than that, the race went great, unfortunately we had plans afterwards and didn’t get to stick around to enjoy the block party, but it was a gorgeous day for it and a wonderful way to celebrate and raise money for Staten Island, we all know what a toll Sandy took on the area.

This is halfway through the line, worst porta potty experience, in more ways than one!

This is halfway through the line, worst porta potty experience, in more ways than one!

Once we finally got into the start corral, we started about 8 minutes after the race, so there was a bit of congestion to battle through, but not as bad as I expected. The start/finish area is gorgeous, with a view of the city across the water, and with the sun shining it was beautiful.

Around mile 4 my legs started feeling heavy, and it was a battle to from about mile 6 on. My thighs just didn’t want to move any faster, it felt like I was trying to run through water, my brain wanted them to go, but they just wouldn’t. Around mile 5 you run down a nice hill, which is fantastic, but then around mile 9 you have to run up that same hill which really took a lot out of my legs, the little I had left.

Elevation (Strava app)

Elevation (Strava app)

I finished a little faster than I did last year, which I’m happy about, but not as well as I would have liked. Because of how I struggled through the race I am now thinking about my marathon training, I wonder should I run more, should I run less, should I do more speed work or more long runs or just rest in full out taper mode? How do I run my best race? I haven’t done a marathon in 6 years and I wasn’t prepared for any of the others I’ve done, so I’m not sure what the correct answer is. I know a lot of it’s in my head, but with the numbers and corrals being released today, I can’t help but wonder what I can do to be as ready as possible. I know it’s a normal phase of the training process, the freak out mode, and hoping it will pass soon.

Staten Island Half Strava map

Staten Island Half Strava map

Results

Results

ready to go

ready to go

Race Bling

Race Bling

Staten Island Half Marathon

Leave a Reply

