Hamptons Half Marathon

Hamptons Half Maraton

Another race in the books! A recap of the Hamptons Half Marathon:

Got my Bling

Got my Bling

With every race you learn something… I’ve heard this a lot, I believe it, and sometimes it’s important to remember this when you have a race that isn’t what you’d hoped it would be. This was the case for my hamptons half marathon. Don’t get me wrong, it was a great race, but it wasn’t my best. It did, however, teach me some things:

  1. Rest is a very important thing for runners
  2. Even when a run hurts and you keep thinking how nice walking would be, just keep moving and you’ll be done before you know it and you’ll back and think that it wasn’t so bad.

The Hamptons Half Marathon, which is about a month out from the NYC Marathon, makes for a great training run and with it falling on one of the last nice weekends of summer, we thought it would be fun to make a weekend out of it and rent a place in Montauk. By the time we got out of work, loaded the car and got on the road it was later than was ideal to drive the 3+ hours it would take us. Stopping along the way at a random place to eat the night before a race is also never ideal. But we made it and crashed around 11 at our hotel. Up at 5, oatmeal in our bellies and in the car, we headed to the race.

The debate to park at the beach and take the shuttle to the start line or to try for parking around the race start, we battled with all week, and ended up deciding to try our luck with parking. Luckily we were there early enough, which is rare for us, that we found a premo spot. Packet pickup was great, with tons of nice swag! Bag, gloves, hat, chapstick, etc.

Hamptons Half Marathon Swag (minus the t-shirt, which I was wearing while taking the photo)

Hamptons Half Marathon Swag (minus the t-shirt, which I was wearing while taking the photo)

I won’t bore you with all the standard race details but I will break down how I felt after the race.

Thursday nights I’ve been doing NYRR classes, which are great and totally kick my butt, however, running 6 miles and doing 3 hard loops around Harlem hill are not ideal when you’re doing a half marathon 36 hours later. At one point during the half as we were running up an incline portion, my legs were reminded of how hard I ran Thursday and were begging for me to pull over and stretch or walk or just sit down. Knowing that I’d regret it if I did, I kept plodding along. Once the course evened out and especially on the declines, I felt better. I passed a girl puking on the side of the road and thought, I guess it could be worse! There was no kick on the last mile, no reserves in my tank, none of that extra push I usually have at the end. But I was done, it wasn’t a PR and it hurt, but I finished and I was happy enough with my time.

Screen shot 2013-10-07 at 1.07.02 PM Screen shot 2013-10-07 at 1.07.19 PM

What I learned from this race is that I CAN run when it sucks. When it feels like my legs just want me to sit down, I can keep going, and I can do it for miles. Knowing this going into the NYC Marathon is good, the last marathons I’ve done I’ve always had problems with injury or food poisoning (that’s another fun story). Knowing that I’m ready to run through a painful race is a great tidbit to have going into a 26.2 mile run!

The Hamptons Half Marathon is definitely going on our race to-do list for next year. It was a wonderfully run event, a great excuse to spend the weekend out in the Hamptons/Montauk, the course was nice, I have some awesome new swag, the weather worse gorgeous. It’s a keeper. The only bad part of the weekend was this stellar blister I got, it really takes the cake:

my blister will kick your blister's ass!

my blister will kick your blister’s ass!

Some photos from the rest of the weekend post half

Cheese Plate

Cheese Plate

Of course we had to stop by Wölffer Estates to do some wine tasting and eat some cheese

Of course we had to stop by Wölffer Estates to do some wine tasting and eat some cheese

not a bad spot to take your coffee

not a bad spot to take your coffee

Morning Breakfast on the beach

Morning Breakfast on the beach

Wölffer Cider - Loving both the drink and the label

Wölffer Cider – Loving both the drink and the label

Montauk Lighthouse

Montauk Lighthouse

At the top of the Montauk Lighthouse

At the top of the Montauk Lighthouse

2 thoughts on “Hamptons Half Marathon

Leave a Reply

