Crock-pot Curry Chicken

The Crock-pot, or if you’re fancy, “slow cooker”, is the best, most under used, tool in my kitchen. I’m a lazy cook, I don’t like to measure, I use whatever ingredients I have on hand, and I hope it turns out to be edible. I also love curry, but try to stay away from the heavy coconut milk, fat bombs that you can come across. So through some trial and error, this is the most easy, go to Crock-pot dish in my arsenal.. And I love it.

This is all I put in the crock-pot with the chicken (adjust depending on how much chicken you use, this is for a BIG breast, or two little ones):
1 tbsp Fish Sauce, I still don’t know what this is, but it works
1 tbsp of Curry (I’ve tried other brands, but Spice Garden Indian Curry is currently my favorite)
Chicken Stock

Doesn't get easier than this

Doesn’t get easier than this

I set the crock pot on low for 8 hours and head off to work.

Ready to cook for hours

Ready to cook for hours

After the chicken has stewed and gotten delicious for 8+ hours, I “pull” it… basically tear it apart with a fork, put it back in to mingle with the juice while I prepare whatever I will be eating it with, usually a salad.

Pulled Chicken

Pulled Chicken

Next, I mix in a thing of greek yogurt, cause it makes it creamy and delicious (who needs coconut milk!)

Fage is the BEST Greek yogurt out there

Fage is the BEST Greek yogurt out there

All mixed up

All mixed up

I like to make a nice salad, get some cilantro (loooove) up on top, red peppers and of course some hot green salsa

Salad with Curry Chicken

Salad with Curry Chicken

Topped with hot salsa

Topped with hot salsa

My man on the other hand, likes his wrapped in a Burrito

Curry Chicken Burrito

Curry Chicken Burrito

And that, my friends, is how the lazy people of the world make a super simple, healthy dinner 🙂

Leave a Reply

