NYRR Celebrate Israel Run – Central Park 4 Miler

I’ve been focusing on my half marathons up to this point so far this year, knowing that I need to get a little fast, more speed workouts, less long runs, I decided to sign up for the first of my summer get your ass moving runs. And it couldn’t have been a hotter, grosser day to start with… ok, it could have, but not by much. I’m a 50 degree, no humidity lover, 77 degrees and like 75% humidity isn’t my favorite, but I’ll do it!

Screen shot 2013-06-02 at 7.20.30 PM

Living close to Central Park, the races are so easy to get up and go to weekend mornings, it’s a great way to start the day because if I don’t have to be up and out at a certain time, guarantee you I’ll procrastinate.

8:00 am race, get to the park to pick up our numbers at 7:45, make it to the start, national anthems, etc. and we’re off. By mile 2 my legs we’re like wtf man? That’s what I get for going hard the past week getting into tri training. So finally done, looking like I just went for a swim, but glad it was over.

Post race pic

Post race pic

They had my time down as a 29 yr old who ran a 7:19 when I first checked the results, which was fine, but I thought to myself, damn, I’ve got work to do. Turns out, it wasn’t right and this is what I really ran at (they could have kept the 29 yr old part though, come on):

Results

Results

Although I still have a lot of work to do to be where I want, I was happy with the run, plus I did this same race last year and ran 29:06 (7:16 mm), so that’s encouraging!

And of course then we had to go for a 26 mile ride up over the George Washington Bridge… Great Day!

Screen shot 2013-06-02 at 7.20.14 PM

Nice Day for a Ride :)

Nice Day for a Ride 🙂

Leave a Reply

