Screen shot 2013-05-24 at 11.25.48 AM

Brooklyn Half Marathon

There are few chances I get to Brooklyn, I don’t live there, I don’t work there, I have the occasional party or dinner there, but it’s not a stop on my after work agenda. So, I was super excited to go to DUMBO  to pick up my packet after work Thursday, knowing I would be in for a treat with the sun setting, the music playing and the bridges reaching over the water back into Manhattan.

Gorgeous Evening (not like the rainy night before)

Gorgeous Evening (not like the rainy night before)

Sun Sinking

Sun Sinking under the Brooklyn Bridge

Manhattan Bridge

Manhattan Bridge

Pre Party Dj Booth was jammin out

Pre Party Dj Booth was jammin out

Shameless selfie

Shameless selfie

Not sure what the pick up was like Friday, but Thursday was a breeze. Hardly any line, bought some gels and took some pics.  If I wasn’t trying to get back home where dinner was waiting, there would have been too much beer and food cart snacks had, so maybe for the best.

Number pick Up

Number pick Up

Got all my goodies!

Got all my goodies!

Race morning. Nothing like setting your alarm for 4:30 to make you wish you could stop signing up for these damn races. But up we were, coffee turned on, oatmeal heated up and half asleep packing up the last of our gear.

My go to breakfast: Slow cook outs with some chocolate protein & pb, and of course a coffee

My go to breakfast: Slow cook outs with some chocolate protein & pb, and of course a coffee

If you’ve ever done a race in Brooklyn, you will know, parking is Horrendous! At one point I thought we were going to miss the race. But after doing laps around for 30+ minutes, we finally got a spot. The start corrals were a little tough to get into due to the crowd, but not impossible, and we made it with just enough time to get into place.

If you know me, you know I prefer 50 degrees to 70 degrees, and I hate running when it’s humid.  Race day was about 60 and 72% humidity, so not horrible but muggy!

After a nice little downhill start, we looped around and into Prospect Park. Having done races here before, it was nothing new (which is nice). One minor hill in the park didn’t cause much trouble, but going down the other side of that hill was fun and fast to exit the park with! Knowing you’re out of the park is the halfway point and downhill to sea level was great.

Screen shot 2013-05-24 at 11.25.48 AM

Around mile 9 I wished I had trained harder on those days I slept in a little late. But all in all I was happy. The finish up onto the boardwalk along the water was great! And knowing I had a new PR made all the chaffing (forgot some body glide  in essential areas) worth it.

Medals!

Medals!

Boardwalk Finish

Boardwalk Finish

Lovely backdrop that is Coney Island to mark the end of your journey

Lovely backdrop that is Coney Island to mark the end of your journey

Sadly, we didn’t stick around after to enjoy the fun that is Coney Island, which I would have very much liked to, but we had my sisters Graduation party from law school to attend, so next year I’ll have to do it again and make sure we stay around for a hotdog and some beers!

Screen shot 2013-05-20 at 11.42.41 AM Screen shot 2013-05-20 at 11.41.35 AM Screen shot 2013-05-20 at 11.41.21 AM Screen shot 2013-05-20 at 11.41.08 AM

And couldn't miss a chance to take a photo in front of Nathan's

And couldn’t miss a chance to take a photo in front of Nathan’s

 

My Spotify Playlist: http://spoti.fi/17z3XSx 

 

Leave a Reply

